Tags

So this is an outfit borne of a combination of last minute panic and laziness. As I’m driving home from campus last night I realize I have no clothes to wear for tomorrow. It’s about 8:30PM and I don’t own a washer/dryer– I huff it the whole grand mile from my house to my parents’ to abuse theirs. It was too late for me to start a load over there, so I made a quick run to my favorite thrift store (which closes at 9PM; I’m sure they were ecstatic to see me waltz in at 8:40) for some outfit ideas.

And lo, I found skirts.

Top: Lane Bryant Outlet; $5.00 (18/20)
Skirt: Thrifted (tag cut, original unknown); $3.23 (16)
Belt: Forever 21; $7.80 (2X/3X)
Shoes: Thrifted (originally REPORT); $3.23 (10)
Blazer: Forever 21; $24.80 (3X)
Necklace: Gift
Earrings: Earthbound Trading Company; $1.80

Total: $45.86

This is another post about the hilarity of sizing. First of all, I adore these hideously gold glittery shoes. Click on the REPORT link above for a close-up. Seriously, they almost sprinkle rainbows and dreams as I walk. If they were red I’m pretty sure I’d be waking up in Oz. They were another random pickup at the thrift store last night. I almost got a pair exactly like it with little flowers instead of a bow at the end, but they were more warn down. So the Golden Eyesore was chosen. And lo, it was glorious.

Another thing– this skirt absolutely does not fit me. I am in no way shape or form a 16, nor will I ever be. When I bring this thing up near my ribs where there is no fat content to contend with, just plain ol’ Natalie bones, this sucker won’t button. It’ll zip almost all the way up, but sweet Cheesus I loved this skirt too much to pass it up. Not to mention it was only $4. So I invented a creative solution– since it zipped ALMOST all the way up, I just clipped a belt around the area that isn’t fully closed. I honestly could’ve gotten away with just that and skipped the outer blazer entirely, but it was a little chilly and this top is a spaghetti style top– slightly inappropriate for the office.

If I weren’t on a strike from tights, I have some adorable patterned brown tights that would’ve looked awesome with this. But since New York City obligated me to wear them to the point of inner-thigh chafing, the two of us aren’t talking right now.